Poets logo

Evolution

🖊️

By TheSpinstressPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
Evolution
Photo by Richard Dykes on Unsplash

I am not saving my best poems for a competition

I can't afford to enter and will never win.

I am not hiding my worst poems

for fear that someone will have an opinion.

I am steadily working my way through

and shredding the scraps

of doodled paper in my bedside table

on which my thoughts have been scattered.

Bringing it all together, I tell myself.

Although I know that hidden in the process

is the same old

clasping hope in which they were written,

months or years ago or yesterday:

this one, this one

this will clear out my heart.

(So far, nothing.)

-

Mental HealthheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Excellent! Glad you're just writing poems for you, as it should be. Clearing out your heart though - that's a deep metaphor for a poem that started out quite whimsically.

  • Catsidhe6 months ago

    Very relatable! Well done!

  • Ooo I like this one! Very authentic. Congrats on the top story!

  • J6 months ago

    yup.

  • Test6 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautifully said. well done and congrats on the ts.

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    FEEL you! This poem needed to be top-storied, so I am appreciative that it was. Sending you BIG write vibes!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Oh yes, I hear you. Great poem.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This really spoke to me. For as much as I would like to be a successful writer...writing is much more than that for me. Well done on a beautifully written poem and congrats on Top Story. Also...just subscribed to you!

  • Always keep writing for it is very therapeutic. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I need to start writing mine on paper again, then I wont delete them permanently. Just write, like a flower. it will bloom brighter and brighter. You are doing great. Happy holidays.

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Every heart-felt poem will find its reader. Merry Christmas!

  • Sara 6 months ago

    Thank you for reminding me why I write 🫶

TheSpinstressWritten by TheSpinstress

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.