Poets logo

Every Time I Think of You

My Hands Begin To Shake

By Jeffrey Pipes GuicePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Every time I think of you my hands began to shake.

My knees begin to wobble and my head begins to ache.

You caused me nothing but trouble and I often wondered why.

I was good to you and I loved you so. You were the apple of my eye.

It started on the afternoon of the 23rd of May.

You were dating a boy named Anderson

but your game he couldn’t play.

Then when you saw me you fell in love

and you still love me today.

But I knew we couldn’t make it work

and this is all I have to say.

Every time I think of you my hands begin shake.

My knees being to wobble and my head begins to ache.

You caused me nothing but trouble and I often wondered why.

I was good to you and I loved you so. You were the apple of my eye.

When I first saw your smile, I had to kiss your lips.

It was a fairytale love at first sight.

I nibbled on your ears and I hickied on your neck

as you wiggled in girlish delight.

Then Anderson showed up with his football team

and he challenged me to a fight.

I got some good licks in and I broke a guy’s nose

as they ran off into the night.

Every time I think of you my hands begin shake.

My knees being to wobble and my head begins to ache.

You caused me nothing but trouble and I often wondered why.

I was good to you and I loved you so. You were the apple of my eye.

When your momma found out, she put a stop to our lovin’

and it broke my heart to bits.

Your daddy was a judge and when your momma told ‘em ‘bout our lovin’

it threw him into fits.

And the very next day the word got to me

that our lovin’ days were pretty much done.

If I ever showed up again around the judge’s big house

I’d be facing the end of his gun.

Every time I think of you my hands begin to shake.

My knees begin to wobble and my head begins to ache.

You caused me nothing but trouble and I often wondered why.

I was good to you and I loved you so. You were the apple of my eye.

It was few years later when our paths were to cross

and you invited me home for a spin.

You took care of my business and when we were through

I left you wearing nothin’ more than a grin.

You loved me early on, and you loved me that night

and you still love me today.

But I knew we couldn’t make it work

and this is all I have to say.

Every time I think of you my hands begin shake.

My knees begin to wobble and my head begins to ache.

You caused me nothing but trouble and I often wondered why.

I was good to you and I loved you so. You were the apple of my eye.

© 2020 Jeffrey Pipes Guice

Jeffrey Guice worked for years in New York City and Washington D.C., while traveling throughout Europe, Africa, Asia, and even spent some time in Antarctica. But the true discoveries came from inside himself, and that poetic journey is shown here.

https://www.amazon.com/Defining-Moments-Relationships-Rebellion-Redemption-ebook/dp/B08MVFV5JW/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=defining+moments+jeffrey+pipes+guice&qid=1605039606&s=books&sr=1-4

#poetry #haiku #poet #poems #poem #vss365 #BraveWrite #love #loss #micropoetry #kindle #kindledeals #BookMarketing

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Pipes Guice

Jeffrey worked for years in New York City and Washington D.C. while traveling throughout Europe, Africa, Asia, and even spent some time in Antarctica. But the true discoveries came from inside himself, and that poetic journey is shown here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.