Poets logo

Every Time I'm Lonely

Poetry

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4

Every time I am lonely,

I remember the feel of his fingertips.

Not in the way you would think,

More of in the way when you’re homesick,

And you begin to remember all your favorite things.

The way he traced my skin,

As if he would never feel or see it again.

The way his lips brush across my ear,

Sending shivers down my spine,

And yet it wasn’t anything sexual.

Every time I am lonely,

I can smell the scent of his skin.

The smell of home,

And at this moment is when,

I realize I know where home is,

Where it has always been.

Every time I am lonely,

I remember the last words that traced his tongue,

Because even if it was something simple,

It was only meant for me.

Like honey dripping out of his mouth,

With words so sweet.

---------

Originally posted here: Every Time I'm Lonely

love poems
4

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was bittersweet and lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.