Poets logo

Estranged Entanglements

A Poem About Dreams By Sophia Makarenko

By Sophia Makarenko Published about a year ago 1 min read
Estranged Entanglements
Photo by Ewan Yap on Unsplash

An estranged entanglement begins in my mind, as I slowly drift carefree.

Shapes blur and glisten...

The illuminated moon reaches through my window in search of me.

I lay quiet and listen...

A midnight library full of dreams,

Discovering doors, hidden in seams,

My body grows heavy as I imagine a scene,

That would suggest some level of abnormality.

I startle as my shoulder is brushed by a dove,

Colossal creatures tower above,

They share wondrous smiles and have petals for skin,

They've got deep green eyes and in honey they swim.

In this dream land, I venture far and deep,

Slipping softly into a seamless sleep,

Meeting that friend that I met in the spring,

Only to discover that her hair's made of string!

And her hands, I can see are different too,

Fingers astonishingly made of bamboo!

I look up again and the image begins to morph,

I peer closer and find I'm staring at a dwarf!

I eventually awake and I'm pulled from that land,

The world with dwarves, and beasts so grand,

But I may soon return, when the next moon rises,

To that land of mystery, magic and surprises.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sophia Makarenko

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sophia Makarenko Written by Sophia Makarenko

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.