Poets logo

Enigma

A love letter to Nigeria

By Funke OgunmefunPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Nigerian flag and Coat of Arms

Enigma

I come from an enigma.

I come from a world of relentless spirit and ceaseless joy. A world where countless stories of overcoming

adversity and defeating the beast of poverty are told over and over again. A land where the labour of our leaders is never forgotten. But I am a being of duality.

I come from an enigma.

I come from a world where the principle of accountability is yet to fully thrive. A world in which countless stories of oppression and greed are told with unforgiving repetition. A land where the ordeals of everyday people at the hands of their leaders are recounted as cautionary tales in their neighbours’ homes.

Nigeria is an enigma.

My people have faced the pain that seeps from the residue of colonialism and the greed that shapes our government, for generations. And yet, we smile. We grab hold of every opportunity to smile and dance. We infuse music and defiant energy into our protests, and the soul of the fearless that came before us into every day’s commute on the streets of our overpopulated cities. We strive for greatness and reject mediocrity. The blood of our ancestors is thick and heavy within us, unrelenting around us, with its constant marks on our very culture.

Africa has countless enigmas.

Our shared experiences of unwavering bravery and pride transcend our many differences. We pay homage to those who have come before us, and nurture those who are here, now. Our history has flowed, from the lips of our mothers to our infant ears, from our homes and communities across manmade borders. We acknowledge who we are and embrace the power that we come from.

Because we were taught not to settle for less.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Funke Ogunmefun

Hi, I'm Funke! I write about music, film and television, skateboarding, and I write non-fiction stories! I've always loved to write, so I'm bringing my work to Vocal! Please consider tipping me on any of my stories that you really enjoy :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.