Poets logo

Engagement

A phone call.

By Ally NorthPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
13

Sarah from next door is getting married,

You said last fall

And I don’t know who Sarah is but you seemed thrilled

All bright eyed and Disney-princess sighing

Her boyfriend proposed in an apple orchard

Ring hidden amidst the leaves

Romantic, you said

Risky, I replied

But you were already talking about the diamond

As described by Sarah’s mother

Who now had a spring wedding to plan.

It isn’t a year later when I call you

Holding my breath

Waiting for your reaction

Shaky and delayed over FaceTime

When you smile it’s distant

Like a star long dead

The faint light of it reaching me

After it’s already gone

I tell you where she asked me

A stoic Manhattan behind us

Buildings like sentinels

The sky ablaze above us

As I tell you

Your mask begins to flicker

Pixels going black

And how strange

That my first instinct is to spare you

The effort of façade

So I don’t tell you about the fireflies

That pulsed to life the moment she slid the ring onto my finger

The way my heart beat backwards when her face lit up

I’ve never seen them before!

Fireflies? I asked

A frenzied head shake—We don’t have them in England!

She watched them for a moment, head tilted

And I watched her

And Mom? I understand now

The poets and the movies

Because I would wage war for the slant of her jaw

Slay monsters for the warmth of her laugh

Spin sonnets for her changing eyes

Golden (in the morning)

Green (if she’s been crying)

Amber (when they’re soaked in sunset)

The way they are now

But I don’t tell you any of that

Because I’d feel less foolish

Pouring champagne into a sieve.

In a year or so

You’ll be at my wedding

Smiling and hugging,

Dancing and laughing,

And I will love you for trying

And I will hate you for having to try

And I will remember

The electric current

That hummed in your voice

When you said

Sarah from next door is getting married.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Ally North

NYC/Connecticut. I have degrees in Creative Writing and Anthropology; I write a lot of fantasy and spec fiction as well as the occasional stage play. When I'm not writing I'm eating candy and reading about shark attacks and plane crashes.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Gorgeous, emotional poem. Well done.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    This is so beautiful.

  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    Emotionnal! Well written. I invite you to read my stories thank you

  • Subscribed 💕 very lovely

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was so emotional and raw. Just beautiful :)

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    "And I will love you for trying And I will hate you for having to try"- This line made me cry. Beautiful work.

  • Kay Roberts2 years ago

    Hi Ally. This is Amanda’s Auntie. I just wanted to say, I loved your words. They’re extremely emotive and heart wrenching too. Also, everything you see and love about her, is everything I feel for her too. I wish you and my niece, every happiness. Much Love Kay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.