Poets logo

Empty walls

Home left the same time as you

By Leigh WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Home is the place between my hollow ribs.

Home was the place that you filled my life with love and laughter,

the place in which you watched me grow and flourish.

Home. Where we belonged when we were kids.

Since you died, home travels with me

where ever I decide I need to be

The heart that you raised, is the only place I feel like I can feel you here

But no place will ever feel the same as home did.

Home was

the place, you would blast Elvis at 8am on a Sunday,

the walls you painted bright orange and yellow to always feel sunny,

the broken statue on the mantelpiece, which you never noticed,

we'd broken it whilst playing football inside, sorry.

Home was the place I could feel like myself,

feel like I could always just exist and be safe.

Home is

the place I stayed up all night watching you sleep,

scared of blinking in case you left me.

the place I had my first panic attack just after you'd gone.

the place I screamed for you to come back at the top of my lungs.

Feeling like I'd swallowed glass,

my rib cage empty.

I miss your laugh echoing through our home

But now it belongs to someone else,

a stranger in our home.

I travelled far and wide to find a home like ours,

but no where felt the same without you.

Come home soon.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Leigh Williams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.