Poets logo

Empty Bed

Story of a one night stand

By Antonia AipperspachPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The spot where you lay sits warm

Holding the sweet scent of you in an alluring fog of temptation,

The taste of your kiss clings, hopeful and sticky like savored candy to the soft curve of my lips.

I wonder…

Does his mind retrace each moment we danced under the spell of ecstasy?

Does his mouth water with lust at the sound of my name?

Do his perfect fingers crave the petite curves of premeditated pleasure?

Can he still feel the slow circling of my tongue around his...

Mmmm…

I wonder where he keeps our memories.

Tucked away in his secret slumbers or in a jar of wishes?

Does he recap every second in the splendor of his magnificent eyes or does he shy away?

I awoke in the dark to your absence and for one fleeting moment, I panicked.

Were your soft moans and sweet caresses all part of an overstimulated imagination?

Or had I lost you to the dusty ashes of a one-night arson?

Be still my heart, don't flutter too close to the flame.

The spot where you were sits cold now.

Images of you reconstruct in my mind, begging a manifestation to hold for just one more second, one minute, just stay.

I breathe in the remnants of your scent and realize the surreal reality of your touch,

Oh, how I could have stayed like that forever.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.