Poets logo

Ember's Glow

Healing after an abusive relationship

By Rae JanneyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Dawn is yet beyond my reach

And under cotton reams I lie

Awake

I dare not sleep.

For my mind is hither and yon

Tangled in reams of dreams.

Dreams that lived

or yet be seen.

Dreams that dared kiss my lips,

But refuse to speak.

Yet as I lie-

As I start to dream,

There is a trembling warmth from my bosom

Buried deep.

There ‘neath the rusted soot

And rotten logs

Is a forgotten hearth;

There,

Planted like a seed

A single ember glows.

Though its light is dim

And miniscule with warmth;

Do not snuff

My ember’s glow.

For when I dream

A dream that lived or yet be seen

I feel the ember’s glow

begin to breathe!

Its breath a yawn reaching through.

Its fingers like feathers

wiping away the webs

From the depths of my unknown.

Please

Don’t snuff my ember’s glow.

Either yawn

Or a peaceful sigh

Let it awaken what I’ve kept inside

Hold fast my dear

With the moon in your eyes

And my name upon your lips.

Hold fast my dear,

And let this ember’s glow

Blind the night!

And bleach the bricks

Of my forgotten hearth

A spectacular gold!

Let it blossom-

My little ember's glow-

Into a glorious blaze

Until it softens its clay

And blisters its cracks

with sunlight.

Fill me with a galaxy of stars!

Let them soar across my fingertips

Through every song,

And every kiss.

Until my hearth becomes the home

I’ve sorely missed.

But the ember is an infant

With tender ears to press

Against my breast

In hopes it, too,

Shall grow

There is one thing

I ask you though;

Do not snuff

My ember's glow.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rae Janney

A Behavioral Neuroscience major with a passion for writing. My predominant writing style is surreal poetry, and most of my pieces touch upon mental health- TW included. My goal with my writing to end the stigma of mental illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.