Poets logo

Elusive Snowflake

You have not been forgotten!

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
8
More than three billion people living on Earth have never seen snowflakes*

(Write and publish a poem inspired by a snowflake.)

*

You know what little snowflake,

I was thirty years old before I knew.

That you truly did exist!

*

Before then I lived in a land of wet and cold

precipitation.

Only dreaming about you!

*

But, alas, our destiny did meet in Missouri,

for only one winter.

And the pictures from the books

became alive!

*

There you stood in mid-air suspended,

just long enough for me to see your

sharp points and angles and designs!

*

You came to me so I could see.

A magnificent sight that not one else

would ever see again!

*

It's only fair that I should...

never see another one of your kind

Again, either!

*

In 1984, my family and I lived outside of Springfield, Missouri for a short six months. There, my children were able to experience the true seasons of fall with all its fiery golden and red colors and winter's wonders like the patterned snowflakes falling all around them, some the size of half dollars. Most of their lives had been in Louisiana, where a snowflake pattern was invisible to the naked eye.

*********************************************************************

Season of The Crystal Globe

Tasks, Titles, Rules, and Record Book

Gary Ragnarsson

nature poetryFor Fun
8

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    I can imagine seeing this for the first time, the wonder in it, you captured that feeling and wrote it down in such a lovely way

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Lovely poem. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘ โ„๏ธ We donโ€™t really get snowflakes here. From memory only time Iโ€™d seen these was when I was in the states briefly.

  • Test3 months ago

    Aw Shirley, I loved the whimsy to this x So lovely ๐Ÿค I've always lived in 'four seasoned' places so I can't much imagine any different!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    So many miracles in life, I was surprised to see the first snowflake was actuallt that shape. Life is filled with mathematics, shapes and sounds. Truly magical story.

  • Test3 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ‘

  • I've never experienced snow before. As a child I always wanted to but now I don't anymore because I cannot stand the cold, lol. But it would be such a magical experience to see a snowflake! Loved your poem!

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    I loved this SO much. This is one of the moments that was just for you. Iโ€™ve never seen a snowflake before ๐Ÿฅน

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Born in January in New England I have seen more than my share of snow. We even got snow, or what they called snow when I lived in Ft. Worth. It's only since I've lived in Florida that my life has been free of the nasty stuff. Good story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.