Poets logo

A Cardinal

Is not just a bird (in this case)

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
"Cardinal" trailer

Deep, dark, cold...

Canadian detective never gives up,

pushing on against evil.

********************************************************************

I recently watched the entire 4 season series aired on HULU. It took me three days and nights with rest and food breaks, and occasional diversions such as life demanded. I can give it a resounding thumbs up approval. It was my first Canadian series and I was curious. I wasn't disappointed. Ironic that the lead actor is played by an American, though. That would be Billy Campbell, playing Detective John Cardinal. I couldn't get enough of the authentic French-Canadian accent when Karine Vanasse, playing Detective Lise Delorme, spoke her lines. Lovely indeed! But what I respected the most was having the part of Detective Jerry Commanda, being played by an actual indigenous (Mi'kmaq) Canadian, Glen Gould.

*********************************************************************

Mi'kmaq Creation Story by Michelle Bennett.

**********************************************************************

A Senryu Critique and Challenge from Matthew Fromm

Senryu
9

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Haven't watched the series. Intriguing!!! Love the critique!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Oooo, this seems like a cool show! I remember the times when I used to binge watch shows, lol! Loved your Senryu!

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    There are so many good shows on TV these days, I wish I had time to watch them all. This one seems interesting, thanks for giving it your thumbs-up.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I don't watch a lot of television but this sounds very intriguing! I enjoyed your senryu and brief synopsis :) I do have HULU, so maybe I'll give it a go!

  • Matthew Fromm3 months ago

    Ooo I’ll check this out

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    That sounds like a great drama. I feel like I might have seen some of Season 1 but a long time ago. Great senryu, Shirley and congrats on your TS too for Standstill.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.