Poets logo

Elsa: Ode to a Best Friend

A free-verse poem

By Harmony KentPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
12
Elsa: Ode to a Best Friend
Photo by Rebecca Campbell on Unsplash

When I hurt the most

Your soft fur soothed

When nobody else would

You cuddled up with me

Little girl lost

Alone

And all at sea

You came and swam with me

~~~

Such a clever dog

You learnt how to knock

On the letterbox

So we’d let you in

One, two, three, four …

Rat-a-tat-tat

At our front door

More human(e) than them all

~~~

We should have named you

Denim

With your fear

Of unwashed

Brand new jeans

The way you’d hide

Behind the sofa

And growl

~~~

Even in your fright

You were never anything

But gentle

Our gazes would lock

And in me you’d trust

Allow me to coax you out

To stroke you calm

And accepted my promise of no harm

~~~

Your chocolate eyes

Deep pools in which I could drown

Filled with love and confidence

And unconditional acceptance

Such a rare thing

In those days of old

When family only ever seemed to throw

Insult and rejection—their comfort blanket cold

~~~

No matter how much love I shared

You were the only one

Who gave it back

You expressed so much

In your myriad looks

Whoever said animals are dumb

Knew even less than you

Whose intelligence shone through

~~~

Your heart’s brightness

Shines even now

Lights my way

In the dark

With soft memories

Of the hours

We’d lie together

And share your bed

~~~

The only time

You let me down

Was at the table

When I tried to deceive

And feed you

Instead of me

You took the stringy meat

Chewed it up and spat it out

~~~

Left me in the lurch

You did

And perhaps

Even then

You gave a needed lesson:

Be honest

So I could be

My truest self

~~~

Infectious

With your playfulness

And love of life

Your unquestioning affection

And loyalty

If we could only listen

You had so much to teach

Us stubborn humans

~~~

Apart from your strange aversion

To the smell of denim jeans

I never once saw

You judge or discriminate

And even when wrongly accused

Of the crimes of your doggy mate

The worst you’d offer

Was a stern canine stare

~~~

Your constant kindness

And patient forbearance

Set me on the right track

And I can only hope

With my cuddles, love, and thanks

I managed to pay you back

That I live the kind of life

That passes on your legacy

~~~

Am I forgiving?

Kind and loving?

Open and understanding?

Do I wear your soft fur?

Or do I prickle and glare

At the smallest slight?

Do my chocolate eyes

Mirror the depths of yours?

~~~

German Shepherd

Beautiful dog

Canine version of a god

I’ll never forget

That soul-crushing day

When I came home from school

And you’d gone away

Crossed the rainbow bridge

~~~

No matter how many

Furry friends followed

In your wake

None could ever match your spirit

Nor personality

Always so much more

Than a mere pet

A girl’s best friend

~~~

In my humble opinion

If not for your influence

I wouldn’t be

The adult I am today

You the parent

Me the child

Your selfless example

Kept me from the wild

~~~

Oh, my dear, dear confidante

Full of fur

And full of fun

You taught me how to fly

As well as how to run

You changed

My lonely life

Took away my strife

~~~

Showed me the way

To live full and contented

Showed me what love is

You took away everything

Bad and sad and left

Only the good

I couldn’t even breathe

Without my memories of you

~~~

My perfect furry friend

A cuddly companion

A soothing balm

An oil on turbulent waters

Always forgiving

Always caring

You understood

When nobody else would

~~~

Elsa … beloved dog

Beloved playmate

Beautiful and sweet

I loved you then

I love you still

My beating heart

Belongs to you

And always will

By Luzelle Cockburn on Unsplash

[Auhtor’s note: One of my lingering regrets is that I have no photographs from my childhood. Not a single one. I would have dearly loved to share with you pictures of Elsa. This unassuming, unmatched furry friend would have captured your heart whole.

Instead, I can only give thanks and gratitude to Rebecca Campbell and Luzelle Cockburn from Unsplash for their generous sharing of their candid canine images. Thank you.

And thank you, dear reader, for sharing with me my fond memories of a family pet and my lifelong friend. I hope my words moved you as much as this amazing dog has moved me over the years.]

love poemssad poetry
12

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Cheadle2 years ago

    Hi Harmony, what a lovely poem about your childhood dog. I also had a dog I loved very much and I was also heartbroken when she passed. Dogs are certainly a child's best friend.

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    They are with us for such a short time, but they capture your heart forever. What a nice tribute to Elsa.

  • Jacquie Biggar2 years ago

    She sounds like a wonderful companion {{hugs}}

  • Beem Weeks2 years ago

    A truly beautiful tribute, Harmony.

  • Priscilla Bettis2 years ago

    This brought me to tears. I totally get how a dog friend can be a true friend, a crutch, a comfort, a pal. And I know how it feels when the dog crosses over the rainbow bridge.

  • John W. Howell2 years ago

    A heartbreaker, Harmony. You do have Elsa in your heart and you in hers.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was such a beautiful tribute, well done!

  • Gwen Plano2 years ago

    What a beautiful, poignant account of a friend who created her home in your heart and lives there still. 🤗

  • D.L. Finn2 years ago

    Beautiful, Harmony :) You have me remembering my childhood companions.

  • Jan Sikes2 years ago

    This is incredible, Harmony. You made me feel every emotion surrounding Elsa, and what a lovely tribute, especially to note the contribution this sweet fur baby gave to making you who you are today.

  • CS Boyack2 years ago

    Pets find their way into our hearts.

  • Mae Clair2 years ago

    What a moving tribute to your beloved Elsa, Harmony. You made my heart melt reading your words. What a special and cherished companion you had. I'm glad that she lives still (and always will) in your heart.

  • Joan Hall2 years ago

    This touches me, Harmony. As someone who has owned several German Shepherds, I can attest to their wisdom and loyalty.

  • Staci Troilo2 years ago

    What a beautiful tribute to Elsa! I'm sorry you don't have photos, but I'm glad you have so many lovely memories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.