Poets logo

Elderberry Hedgerows

inspired by the In Eclipse challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 18 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
9
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

Evening purples bruise the sky as stardust forms constellations.

Captivated, I watch them twinkle, giving me a glimpse of heaven until the silence is broken by the rustling of

leaves. It's both captivating and terrifying to find

I'm witness to Ursa Minor gorging on

pilfered sacks of cellophane

snicked from careless interlopers; the 'treasure' he seeks is more toxic than nature's own bounty while

elderberry hedgerows wither in shadows of neglect.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for spending your time with me :) Now go get a healthy snack!

~

You can read all of my In Eclipse challenge entries so far in this compilation post!

social commentarynature poetryAcrostic
9

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.17 days ago

    So many bomb lines in here! "pilfered sacks of cellophane" enchanted me. How do you do this? It's witchcraft - you are brilliant!

  • Oh wowwwww, this was so stunning and mesmerising! Loved your Acrostic! Ugh, I don't wanna have a healthy snack 😫😫😫

  • John Cox17 days ago

    Cosmic nature gutted by twinkies. Novel, lovely and disturbing. Guess I better eat an apple.

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    I don't think I've even eaten those. May have tasted but I believe they're quite bitter, no? Also, speaking f bitter, interlopers suck.

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    I already had done with healthy snack, now reading your deep insightful poetry. I think so case has been reversed. What to do now ?? Again a healthy snack

  • Chloe Gilholy18 days ago

    This was lovely. I had a mushrooms on toast with some salad for my dinner.

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Loving the last line!!! 💕❤️❤️ Remembering hard economic times and elderberry pies to survive!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.