Poets logo

Ebony is Just a Shade of Black

Loving my skin

By Bernice RichardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My skin glistens as the sun bounces off its rays.

Barely covered in a swimsuit, I run carefree.

I see the eyes follow me as I hear some pray.

In their midst, I stand out, but still, I laugh with glee.

My skin is ebony in a sea of pink tans.

My hair needs moisture as much as you need air

My crown maybe 3A, 3B, 3C or 4A, 4B, 4C

Afro or curls, braided or weaved still, they stare

it erupts from my scalp like waves from the sea

My hair is ebony peeping amongst the blondes

My accent is scorned at, “ I can’t hear you.”

English is as foreign as French is romanticized.

All differ in intonation and pronunciation, to say a few.

To speak boldly even when despised and criticized.

My voice is not ebony, but still, they judge me.

My facial features, once ridiculed, are now coveted.

With fillers and needles, they try and fail.

It’s natural for me, but their own is edited.

Lips plum ready with words to prevail

My face is ebony, and I choose to be seen.

Black might be the absence of light.

But don’t allow it to define your reach.

Transforming the earth is our birthright.

I remain the origin of all life so hear me preach.

Blacks will not be silent or made to conform.

Don’t erase yourself by conforming with creams to lighten.

Love your skin, own your light and never be dimmed.

Don’t have wings and chose legs. Choose to enlighten.

Your versatility and intensity should never be trimmed.

Ebony is just a shade of black.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.