Poets logo

Ebony and Ivory

A tale as old as time

By S. G. MarinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Ebony and Ivory
Photo by Rene Bernal on Unsplash

There's so much anger, danger, fear all around

All this confusion, delusion, spinning in my head

The swirling and the twirling of black white and red

Moments are passing, everyone's harassing

I'll make myself into a blank slate

Where there is no color, no deathly fate

Where we can all stand tall

Stand for each other, stand as one infinite being

Where there is no judgment of the skin tone you're seeing

Ebony and Ivory, a tale as old as time

The harsh judgments of others will turn into violence

A word becomes a fist and a fist becomes a bullet

When you're finger is on the trigger, please don't pull it

The fighting, loud noises, they can swallow us whole

But I want to be done with all of that, I want to be free

Because when you think of it, I am you and you are me

You and I are the same, you see

Ebony and Ivory can blend into one beautiful masterpiece

So, let's just start anew, with me and you

The mistakes made by our ancestors don't have to be the end

It can all start with us simply becoming good friends

We can put our weapons aside and change the channel, so to speak

For choosing a brand new path, that doesn't make us weak

We can be the heroes read about in books or seen upon the screen

We can be the movement, the moment that makes all the difference

Take my hand, interlace your fingers with my own

Let us take a stand and create in our world a peaceful home.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

S. G. Marin

I'm optimistic, married, a mom, a writer, a reader, an artist. Being only thirty years young, I want to be a published author when I grow up. I hope to help heal the world with my words, for they are quite powerful when used correctly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.