Poets logo

Eada

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Jean-Leon Gerome, "The Arab & His Steed," 1872

No one understands running as you do

It is not merely a task you complete

Nor a hard role rehearsed and played on cue

For it is what you are; none can compete

Distance is not a word to worry you

Fatigue is profanity in your tongue;

To you, the sand was as the grass to dew

Your races made my grandfather feel young

The flashing swords of battle made you dance

That bloody tumult never gave you pause

You were the hero of that grim romance;

And on your back, I fought for your good cause

With you, all speed freezes, all grace lies still

What you cannot bear, my memory will

Ekphrastic

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Holden Atencio11 days ago

    When I first saw the painting, I anticipated that I would feel teary-eyed for what was about to come. But after reading, it was so nice to hear the speaker talk about their dear, admirable friend! Animals can be such companions. And heroes, too! (I just spoke to both of my furry roommates.. and they replied!)

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • "Your races made my grandfather feel young". That line was my favourite. Loved your poem!

  • Kodah4 months ago

    💖 Incredible poem! Love the first line! 💖

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.