Poets logo

Each day I say sorry

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Each day I say sorry
Photo by Guillaume de Germain on Unsplash

‘Tis was more than 20 years ago

The saddest thing that ever happened.

My first girlfriend and I broke up

Till date I have never fully forgotten that.

I dreamt of a future; I dreamt she would be my wife forever

Alas, it did not happen.

Back then I was foolish; I was naive

I needed to be more sensitive.

As an old aunt told me, ‘Son, someone cast an evil eye on you’

I now firmly believe she was right.

My relationship ended back then

In a few years I got married to a very nice and beautiful woman.

I have children with her now

I am definitely happy.

But after so many years there is a piece of me that still is sad

So, to diminish the marginal sorrow, each day I say sorry.

Sorry, my first girlfriend, I say sorry to you

Each day I spend two minutes saying sorry to you.

Wherever you are now, I hope you are glad

Even though I have, I never did intend to hurt you.

So, if you ever think of me (I don’t think you do)

Just remember that I did really care for you.

Goodbye forever and take good care

Not for you but for myself I will continue to apologize.

This is how I choose to live my remaining life.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.