Poets logo

...and then?

a poem

By Bugsy WattsPublished about a month ago 1 min read
...and then?
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Fear flares like fire

fed a meal of hearty oak,

when I try to broach the day

and all that it holds.

What will happen if I open

the contents of my brain?

Will I discover something new,

or be rendered insane?

I keep it at arm’s length

giving me purpose for tomorrow.

I am so often without purpose,

I must hold on to just this.

/

But the days stretch longer

with the important things undone.

And I hold them in my mind

where they reside with perennial hum,

what could be, what could be,

if I step forward, will I see?

/

And what if I do exactly this, exactly that?

quell the insistence of my life,

silence the buzzing of the gnat?

What if I accomplish

everything I’m meant to do?

What’s left when the achievements

are all but trundled through?

at the end of a life both short and long.

/

I rot in company with the ideas

in my mind,

ideas never broached

nor weathered with time,

because I hid them away

under the ground like ore,

precious metals never mined,

thoughts never said,

things never done,

they all stayed in my head.

/

...and then?

Stream of Consciousnessart

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár10 days ago

    Oh wow, I loved how deeply I could relate to this poem and it was so easy to rea, yet deep and thought-provoking. My fave: "thoughts never said,/things never done,/they all stayed in my head."

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was very relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Love this. My fave line is "where they reside with perennial hum".

  • Andrei Z.about a month ago

    Well, you better let them out, the ideas. They've done their sentence and now deserve a breath of fresh air :D

Bugsy WattsWritten by Bugsy Watts

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.