Poets logo

Dutch Love

From when we were younger

By Kaliyah MyersPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Image is from Google

Lieve vriend,

Ik schrijf je deze brief om te zeggen

Dat ik je mis en dat ik wil dat je bij me bent

Ik denk elke dag en nacht aan je

En ik vraag me af of je ook aan mij denkt

Ik wil dat je weet dat je speciaal voor me bent

En dat ik dankbaar ben dat je in mijn leven bent

Je brengt licht in mijn donkere dagen

En je maakt me blij met je aanwezigheid

Ik hoop dat we snel weer samen kunnen zijn

En dat we onze tijd samen kunnen doorbrengen

Ik wil lachen en plezier maken met jou

En genieten van elke seconde die we samen hebben

Dus als je deze brief leest, weet dan dat ik van je hou

En dat ik altijd aan je zal denken

Je bent mijn beste vriend en ik zal er altijd voor je zijn

Want jij bent degene die mijn hart doet zingen

Met liefde,

Jouw vriend

-*Translated*-

Dear friend,

I'm writing you this letter to say

That I miss you and I want you to stay

I think of you every day and every night

And I wonder if you think of me in your sight

I want you to know that you are special to me

And I'm grateful that you're in my life, you see

You bring light to my dark days

And you make me happy with your ways

I hope that we can be together soon

And spend our time together in a boon

I want to laugh and have fun with you

And enjoy every moment that we pursue

So when you read this letter, know that I love you

And that I'll always be thinking of you

You're my best friend and I'll always be there

Because you're the one who makes my heart sing, I swear

With love,

Your friend

Disclaimer; when I was a lot younger, I fell in love with someone who lived across the sea's and I fell in love with his culture as well. To this day, that culture lives and breathes in my heart of hearts and through all of the strife- Our love grew into a friendship that is unbreakable instead of the love that was once unshakable. Now, I'll share a letter from years ago when I was still learning the language and hope it may inspire or remind others of a love that taught them lots in all good ways.

surreal poetrylove poemsart
Like

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.