Poets logo

Dust & Ashes

A Confession Psalm

By KtPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dust & Ashes
Photo by Zach Lucero on Unsplash

I throw myself down

Surrendered in silence

I have nothing to say

No beautiful or broken words to pray

I cry out the only name

That I know in knowledge

Holds power in this game

Every day, every technique, every word that I speak

Every foolish decision of mine that I accidentally leak

Knocks me off of my feet in sullen defeat

I now understand the ashes and dirt

The tearing of clothes

And weeping in the night

Foolish and futile are my attempts

And I ask myself

Why am I so HELL BENT?!

Reckless words and actions

I use as defense

I'm mad!

I want my way-

And then I get it and say...

This wasn't it! I didn't want this

And throw it back at you like you warranted it

performance poetryslam poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kt

I embarked to my favorite coastline several years ago in search of feeling in a dark season and accdientally wrote a poem. I have written ever since.

Poetry is what my friends know me for, but words burn in my bones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Strong alliteration. Great poem. I know about ashes and dirt. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.