Poets logo

duel

#poem-once-in-a-blue-moon #dialogue

By Heather HublerPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

Fraught with inequality, my dreamer's dreams devolve–

Well, woes just seem to follow you, and nothing do you solve.

Uhh, I'm in my own private idaho, save your snarky observations.

Oh please, your whining begs for my erudite solicitations.

That's what you think you're giving me? More like judgement by the buckets.

Really? Cos I see a quitter, someone cashing in with wads of fuck-its.

I can't believe you said that to me. All I do is try and struggle.

Try-ing is exactly what you are, annoying like a muggle.

Leave me be, I cast you out! Take a short walk off a plank.

How about asking for some advice for once, if I'm being frank?

Educate me then, oh wise one, I'm all ears and inquiring mind...

You need to stop pretending that our lives are intertwined; screw the haters, give self love, and embrace a life that's true and kind.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

If you take a quick glance back, each 'speaker' follows their own acrostic that hopefully gives a richer meaning to the last line :)

Acrostic

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    Very clever use of acrostic form for a dialogue poem! Nicely done!

  • Futile abd Worthy, that was so brilliant! My face part was the announcement muggle one, lol. Loved your double Acrostics so much!

  • JBaz11 days ago

    Witty repertoire of words, great banter back and forth. I have to say my line that I enjoyed the best -'annoying like a muggle.' gave me a chuckle and clear understanding of the character. Well done

  • John Cox11 days ago

    This is a brilliant challenge entry, Heather. It elevates the dialogue into a lyrical delight! Great work!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    Dueling acrostics. Sounds like a mental sport. Clever work as always, Heather. Great entry!!!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    Ooh, I needed that pointer at the end, but very cool.

  • Dana Crandell11 days ago

    This is really celverly put together and carries a great message, too. What an excellent entry, Sis!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.