Poets logo

Duality of Sight

A poem for the "Sensational" challenge

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
Duality of Sight
Photo by FRANCESCO TOMMASINI on Unsplash

Sight is a blessing, there is no equality

Is it the greatest gift? I’d defend with ferocity

Believing what is in front, it confirms reality

-

But is it truly the greatest gift?

Also other senses exist, do they not persist?

It’s never wise to set your mind so straight

Deceiving yourself into believing sight is the only great

-

To you I say think and appreciate

The elegance of sight, allowing us to accommodate

Mind fabrications to reality, affiliates

Alludes to a better world. Illuminates

~~~

Did you find the hidden (not so hidden) Haiku? (read the bolded words)

social commentarynature poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Amber Bristow6 months ago

    This is a masterpiece, I now finally understand a poem within a poem! Well done 👏🏼

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    What a clever idea and such skillful execution! Well done, Mohammed!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh, Mohammed, this is masterful! I did spot the hidden poem, but like Dharrsheena, didn't realise until the end that it was a haiku! So thought-provoking and a brilliant take on the challenge! Love it!

  • Iris Harrisabout a year ago

    Cleverly written! I spotted the Haiku before I read to the end.

  • Omg! I did find the hidden poem but I didn't realise it was a Haiku! This was so brilliant!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful job! I really love that last line :)

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    One of the most clever poems I’ve ever read.

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    This was good! I enjoyed it! Thank you for creating.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    I saw the haiku. 😄 Beautiful poem

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Great job!! I love secret/hidden message poems 😁😁❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.