Poets logo

Drowning in Heartache

Things won't be depressing forever...

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Drowning in Heartache
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Living in the dark

Voices crowding my mind

Walls crushing in

I’m living in a dark place

But I’m not going to let you break me.

~

Will my feelings die here?

Will I question everything about life now?

This heartache is going to take me.

I won’t let it break me.

Scream out,

Let the emotions out.

~

And then breathe

You can’t drown every day

The water won’t be overwhelming all the time.

Take in the sunlight,

Take in a breath of air

And remember that everything will be okay.

~

Reach out

There will be a hand reaching back to help pull you out of the depts of heartache.

There will be someone there

To remind you that you are loved

You are appreciated

You deserve to live.

~

I let the darkness in

But I won’t let it break me

Let the light in

Remember that it’s okay to live.

sad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 3 months ago

    I’m so thankful that you’ve found Vocal as a great outlet for creativity and healing through writing.

  • Lindsey Altom3 months ago

    Your Heartache is just a mere moment in a time, a blink if you will and one day you will look back and see how it has shaped you for some of us are molded by fire. Love you!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.