Poets logo

Shade

Seek comfort, it’s important.

By BrettNotGregPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
2
Shade
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Today, like so many others, was that spot underneath the trees on an otherwise scorching venture.

Ah, yes. Today, I caught my breath, wiped away the sweat, and drank my water.

This spot, just like the last, cast shadows of leaves on the ground, where shining specs of light again were.

This space feels safe and restful. I am content. I am unbothered.

While I’m aware of the possibility of having to trek back out into the fiery abyss of the blistering sun tomorrow, I just can’t say that any plans of action have been made…

For today, I relax because I’ve found shade.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Thank you so much for reading my work! Any feedback or support that you have to offer is accepted and appreciated.

surreal poetrynature poetryMental HealthinspirationalGratitude
2

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

Wanna buy me a coffee?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    I struggle to do this, to enjoy the present. I always worry about what's gonna happen next 😅 Your poem was so beautiful and I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.