Poets logo

Drinking and Thinking…

Exploring the Relationship Between Alcohol and Creativity

By SahilSaysPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Drinking and Thinking…
Photo by Dylan de Jonge on Unsplash

It was a quiet evening, and I found myself sitting alone at the bar, nursing a glass of whiskey. As I sipped, my mind started to wander, and I found myself lost in thought, contemplating the events of my life.

It had been a rough few months, with one setback after another. I had lost my job, my relationship had ended, and I was struggling to find my footing in a world that suddenly seemed uncertain and unforgiving.

But as I sat there, swirling the amber liquid in my glass, something shifted. Maybe it was the warmth of the whiskey, or the hum of conversation around me, but I started to feel a glimmer of hope.

I realized that all of the setbacks and failures I had faced had brought me to this moment, sitting at the bar and reflecting on my life. And maybe, just maybe, this was exactly where I was meant to be.

As the night wore on, I continued to drink and think, piecing together the fragments of my life and considering new paths forward. And even though I knew that the road ahead wouldn't be easy, I felt a renewed sense of purpose and determination.

By the time I stumbled out of the bar and into the cool night air, I felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. I wasn't sure what the future held, but I knew that I was ready to face it head-on.

As I made my way home, the stars twinkled above me, and I felt a sense of peace settling over me. Drinking and thinking might not be the solution to all of life's problems, but in that moment, it had given me the clarity and perspective I needed to move forward.




Sahil

I woke up the next morning with a pounding headache, but also with a newfound sense of purpose. I spent the day taking care of myself, drinking water and resting, but my mind was buzzing with ideas and possibilities.

Over the next few weeks, I started to put my plans into action. I reached out to old contacts, applied for new jobs, and started to take small steps towards building a new life for myself.

It wasn't easy, and there were plenty of setbacks along the way. But every time I felt discouraged, I thought back to that night at the bar, and the feeling of hope and determination that it had given me.

In the months that followed, I found a new job that I loved, made new friends, and even started dating again. And while there were still challenges to overcome, I felt like I was finally on the right path.

Looking back on that night, I realized that sometimes, we need to give ourselves the time and space to simply drink and think. It's easy to get caught up in the busyness of life, always rushing from one thing to the next without taking the time to reflect on what we truly want.

But when we allow ourselves to slow down and be still, to really think about our lives and what we want from them, amazing things can happen. It might not always be easy or comfortable, but sometimes the most powerful breakthroughs come from simply sitting at a bar and letting ourselves dream.

So the next time life gets tough, and it feels like there's no way forward, I'll remember that night at the bar, and the hope and possibility that it brought. Because sometimes, all we need is a little whiskey and a lot of time to think

heartbreakchildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

SahilSays

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.