Poets logo

Dreams of an Aphantasiast

can you see visual imagery?

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago 1 min read
11
Dreams of an Aphantasiast
Photo by Lucas Kapla on Unsplash

i want to be able to see in my mind

i want colours & pictures,

abstract designs

I want to have what others do

the experience of

internal view

for perhaps then I could paint

something unique

without restraint

creating art never before seen

animals and shapes

that have never been

.

I hope we can find a way

A cure for Aphantasia

Some day

=====================================================

I have had an article in my drafts for a a long time about this. I still haven’t returned to finish it (but I will!). I learned in recent years that I am even less typical than previously thought. I lack the ability to see images in my mind.

The trouble with being unable to do something that others take for granted, is that you never actually learn you are different.

Hence it took me until my 30s to understand that others are able to play their imaginations visually. The subject absolutely fascinates me and I am quite certain that my lack of visual imagination is a trauma response that can be healed (now that I know I’m supposed to be able to do this!).

The fact that I can dream (very vividly) tells me it is clearly possible for me to do this. I just can’t consciously do it.

I would be so interested to know if anyone else here has this ?

social commentarysad poetry
11

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 7 months ago

    This is so interesting! I never knew there was a name for this! I don’t have it, in fact I kinda have the opposite. I’m pretty sure I have maladaptive daydreaming😂 (not exactly the opposite but kind of) BUT I’ve had discussions about this, without knowing the name of it, with a few of my friends who are the same as you!! It was such an interesting discussion. But neither of them liked reading and thought it might be related to that because they couldn’t visualise what they read. But you love writing, which makes it even more interesting! I hope you can find a cure too though and I’ll have to make sure to be more grateful for this from now on!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Thank you for writing this, Kayleigh! I had heard of the condition but didn't know the name - so you educated me a bit. Sorry you have this difficulty - I can't imagine what it must be like. I have to say, though, given that sometimes you must have to work doubly hard or in a different way to produce such exquisite poetry that you do, makes me fascinated with your process and even more impressed by your writing than I already was! This poem is another great example of your abilities and I am glad you work through what is obviously disadvantge and I'm excited that you may be able to fix it further down the line! Love this!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Aye, many people have this, but that clearly does not mean they cannot be creative geniuses!

  • Addison M8 months ago

    That's fascinating! I knew this existed but never knew anybody who experienced it. Im glad you shared this. Also the rhyme scheme and structure in this really flowed well.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Well written! Great work!

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    Ohh man, I have so many questions! first off, great article. How does this impact you as a writer? The only things that keep me organized and on track are my mental images.

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    I can see imagery in my mind but i certainly cant draw a good picture, haha. I believe you will be able to see imagery too✨

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I had no idea about this. Very interesting.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I've come across a couple of people in the last few years this, it's interesting.

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    Oh, I did not know that this condition exists. As I can remember in childhood I had very vivid visual imagination, but years passed, now it's quite poor. No details, but only some blurry outlines. If you can dream, I believe you indeed can get back what's yours!! So do heal please!

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    Aphantasia is so fascinating to me. I did not know that some people cannot visually imagine things until about a year ago. As someone who has been a chronic daydreamer and has lived in their imagination since very early childhood, it’s so tough for me to try to understand what it would be like without my mind’s eye. That’s interesting that you have vivid dreams though!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.