Poets logo

Dreaming of Dragons

A Poem Inspired by a Crazy Dream

By Liviu RomanPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3

As I lay down to sleep one night

I closed my eyes and took flight

To a world beyond my wildest dreams

Where anything and everything it seems.

I found myself in a bustling city

Where the streets were alive and pretty

The buildings were tall and grand

Each one with its own unique hand.

But as I wandered through this place

I couldn't help but feel out of place

For everyone around me had wings

And could fly about on whims.

So I spread my arms and took a leap

Hoping to join in this aerial feat

But to my surprise, I couldn't fly

No matter how hard I tried.

So I continued on my way

Wondering if I'd ever find a way

To join in this world of flight

When suddenly, everything took a fright.

The ground began to shake and tremble

As a giant beast emerged from the temple

It was a dragon, fierce and strong

With scales as bright as a ruby's song.

The people scattered in every direction

Trying to escape the dragon's affection

But I stood my ground, frozen in fear

As the beast came closer and closer, clear.

But as it approached, something strange happened

The dragon slowed and gently landed

It looked at me with kind, gentle eyes

And I realized, to my surprise.

That this dragon was not here to harm

But to bring me onto its outstretched arm

It soared through the sky, higher and higher

Until the world below was but a mire.

We flew above the clouds, weightless and free

The dragon and I, just you and me

And as we flew, it told me its story

Of a world beyond, filled with glory.

We flew for what seemed like an eternity

Until it was time for me to leave this infinity

The dragon gently set me down

In the same spot where I was found.

As I awoke from my slumber deep

I couldn't help but feel the dragon's keep

It had left a mark on my heart and soul

A memory that will never grow old.

I may never know if it was real

Or just a figment of my sleep

But the feeling of freedom and flight

Will stay with me through the day and night.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Liviu Roman

Mahatma Gandhi — 'Be the change that you wish to see in the world.'

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nedelcu Alinaabout a year ago

    Great Poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.