Poets logo

Dreaming in a Cell

Dreams

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
By Anton Atanasov

As I sit in my cell, dreaming of freedom lost, I ponder the future, the paths that exhaust. What awaits beyond these cold, silent walls? A life of renewal, or further downfalls?

Will I be welcomed by those I once knew, the friends of my youth, my old family too? Or will I be met with suspicion and scorn, a stranger to them, in the years reborn?

The dreams I once cherished, so vivid, so bright. Now fade into shadows in the dead of the night. A home, a career, a life filled with grace. Are they still waiting, or gone without trace?

Can I rebuild the life that I dreamed, when my heart was hopeful and my spirit beamed? Or are those dreams now tattered and torn. Lost in the echoes of the years that have worn?

The days pass slowly, each one a test, of patience and hope, of enduring unrest. I long for the sun on my face, the open sky, but fear what I'll find when I'm allowed to fly.

Will I find love, will I find peace, or will the burdens of the past never cease? Will the world have moved on, leaving me behind, a relic of memories, in a future unkind?

I question my worth, I question my fate, In this lonely cell, with thoughts that grate. The freedom I yearn for, so near yet so far, feels like a distant and unattainable star.

As I sit in my cell, dreaming of freedom's embrace, I wonder if I'll find my place. A life rebuilt, a future bright, or endless shadows in the fading light?

Time will tell, as the days unwind, If the world still holds a place for my kind. Until then, I dream, I hope, I pray, for a chance at life, come what may.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred24 days ago

    Reminds me of "To Althia From Prison" by Fairport Convention, great words

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.