Poets logo

dream-less

a poem

By Heather HublerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Created with NightCafeStudio

decisions

and

repercussions

fuel

my maddening

midnight mind

the dreamless

anti-slumber

and

the tick

t i c k

t

i

c

k

of that

damn clock

all combine

to completely

disarm me

i'm left

floundering

set adrift

questions

with no answers

answers with

no questions

nothing makes

sense

except that

feeling

that horrible

nagging

sense of dread

i've missed

something

said too much

said too little

tried to care

but didn't have

the strength

the weight of

my misdeeds

and shortcomings

should

pull me

d

o

w

n

into

an unrelenting

nightmare

but no...

i lie awake

counting my

failures

instead of sheep

hours pass

like nails on

chalkboard

grating on my s o u l

and when that

loathsome

buzzing fills the air

i snap awake

the dream

inside a dream

wrapped in

a nightmare

dissolving

in the dawning light

and i know

i'll be right back

here again

tonite

______________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!!

Here are a few more recent pieces from me if you'd like to take a look :)

surreal poetrysad poetry
11

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I hate those thoughts that cycle around ! Ugh. Relatable! I put the fan on haha or those megahertz music vibrations from YouTube on my iPad to sleep.. not sure if you know the ones.. or sometimes Michael sealey sleep meditations. Prob should do that again actually so thanks for the reminder. Very unsettled the last few days. Anyhow loved your poem Heather! Have a swell day mate!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I am sooooo far behind on my reading, but I'm here now and WOW, this is GOOD! So relatable and your format just drives it home like a gut punch. Excellent poem, Heather!

  • No matter what the problem is, the solution is always murder my fear friend! Murder them in poems and stories and live vicarious through them! If that still doesn't help, then maybe you can live vicariously through poems or stories in which the protagonist has the best sleep of their life. I can hear you tell me to shut up, so I'll see myself out 😅 Sending you lots of love and hugs my sweet looney partner! ❤️

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Damn, are you and Cathy taking poetry courses. You touched on the lost of moments in our lives due to over thinking or unable to let go. Endless nights wasted on things that trouble us during the day now haunt our dreams. I could be wrong but this is what I felt when I read it.

  • My past four nights. Last night, in bed by 12:15, still awake at 5 a.m. tossing & turning with thoughts just as you describe.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    counting my failures instead of sheep - nope, I do not identify with this line at all, never happens to me in the small hours, totally foreign concept....

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Melancholy and exquisite!!! Left some love!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful, relatable, and utterly exhausting. Sending hugs and wishes for a peaceful mind.

  • Man, do I know how you feel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.