Poets logo

Drawn in Pencil

If the world were a gallery, my life would be a canvas, and my identity, the media.

By J. R. LowePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
7
Drawn in Pencil
Photo by Nakul on Unsplash

I draw myself in pencil;

Delicately,

Uncertainly,

Faintly.

*

A false portrait made to please the critics;

Fearfully,

Cowardly,

Shamefully.

*

Hesitant to make a permanent mark.

Lines wavering at the sound of disapproval -

Ready to erase at any moment;

Swiftly,

Obediently,

Straightly.

*

Young years lost to quiet resentment

Of the canvas I was given;

Regrettably,

Bitterly,

Wishfully.

*

I admire artworks set in stone.

With paint adhered to canvas,

That's sculpted to their bones.

They claim their space in the gallery,

And sit upon their thrones;

Intentionally.

Unapologetically.

Proudly.

*

Entwined with fear and hiding from permanence,

I clutch my pencil;

It's a shield,

It's a mask,

It's safety.

Yet I cannot help but wonder,

If I were to paint in colour,

What would the critics say?

For I'm curious, yet terrified.

Not of the violence or the sin,

But of those subtle disappointments,

Those forced smiles at dinner tables,

The 'I-don't-get-it's and the snarky grins.

I cannot hide this piece forever.

Loved ones are clawing at the truth.

There's hurt hidden in those faded lines,

Of the portrait that I drew.

I long to paint in colour.

If only someone knew,

I want to be more than grey and blue.

But it’s a media I cannot risk,

For what would the critics say to me?

If I were to paint in colour;

Brightly,

Boldly,

…Genuinely?

*

High on confidence,

With one quick motion,

I snap the pencil in two,

And break free from the grey scale shades

Which confined me

To an ever-changing façade

I called identity;

Bravely,

Hopelessly,

Desperately.

*

With no choice but paint and colour,

Palette in hand,

I press the brush to canvas;

Curiously,

Cautiously,

Permanently.

*

With shaky hands and stolen breaths,

I hang the portrait

For all to see,

There, in the gallery;

Truly,

Undeniably,

Me.

*

Now, as the show begins,

The crowds slowly file in.

My art hangs so vulnerably on the walls;

In harmony,

In peace,

In solidarity.

It's there in the boldest hue,

Drawn ever so meticulously;

Colourfully,

Proudly,

Intentionally.

It’s a final copy and a finished work,

And when loved ones ask with best intent;

Awkwardly,

Fearfully,

Bluntly,

What will the critics say?

I'll tell them;

Confidently,

Purposively,

Unwaveringly:

I may not be a masterpiece,

But they shall never

Ever

Erase me.

inspirational
7

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    I think this poem looks like a pencil, great work

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    There's a really lovely elegance to this. ❤

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    This is extraordinary work! Nice job. :)

  • This was super relatable

  • Jason Kolls2 years ago

    Definitely a relatable feeling. The biggest critic of all being ourselves. This was a great read. Thank you for your hard work!!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving the inspiration & motivation!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.