Poets logo

Downpour

Take 1. Take 2.

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
8
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Trawling through the archives:

Downpour: Take 1

Downpour: Take 2

*

When trawling through the archives of long ago notations, I found two reflections of distance, longing and perception.

The theme? Brisbane’s flash thunderstorms and soaking rains.

As I looked at my writing within the notebook, each ‘Downpour’ reflection stood in isolation; randomly interspersed within an extended and unrelated plotline I was exploring.

I was reading each piece to a friend when I laughed out loud and held up a slip of carbon paper.

He smiled and asked, “Why?”

I replied, “Sometimes I found the need to insert the blue page of duplication.”

From the red strike-through word deletion or duplication marks and red cross-hatched arrows for word relocation, this simple observation of pen pressed via carbon copy captured the iterations of two moments in time.

*

Downpour: Take 1

[ Adelaide: Date 21 April 1998 ]

When you live in Brisbane the rain comes in the summer.

The afternoon thunderstorm is eagerly awaited. It provides a momentary break from the unyielding humidity.

Stark white lightning, rumbling thunder and the plick of hailstones on the windows.

First rain drops begin to descend from the heavy grey sky. Then comes the downpour.

*

Downpour: Take 2

[ Brisbane: Date 7 July 2017 ]

Yesterday I was struggling with the title for a short reflective piece to express the need to protect my mind from a build-up of emotion and distress.

An expression to capture with brevity the strategies I needed to ameliorate an attack on my physical and cognitive environments.

Two words solved the problem: ‘Soul shelter.’

This morning I woke to a crack of recognition!

I threw back the covers, ran to the bathroom, rummaged through my laundry hamper and found my well-worn woollen red knitted cardigan.

Back to my room, knowing they were there, somewhere. Yes! I found them and slipped on my well-worn woollen red knitted fingerless gloves. I knew I’d need them.

Clarity!

Kettle on.

White plunger coffee sweetened with brown sugar.

I grabbed my key lanyard. Snatched up my writing satchel with the blue and white tassel. Remembered my umbrella and opened my door.

My suspicions affirmed.

Straight to the gate, I unlocked it and walked to the covered wooden picnic table in the park opposite.

I sat down with a visceral relief.

I’d made it.

I caught the moment.

First rain drops begin to descend from the heavy grey sky. Then comes the downpour.

Sit still.

Warm hands around coffee.

Reflect. Quietly consider.

Drift into the swift of physical sensations.

Mind relaxing.

Sensory relief.

Anticipating. Monday in reach. Approaching ever slowly …

I had rediscovered peace.

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard3 months ago

    Felt that moment ❤️ Beautiful❤️

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    To end it with discovering peace brings such calm to the reader! Nicely done.

  • Oh this was just so wonderful! I loved it so much!

  • Sandra Tena Cole12 months ago

    So good!! Homely, enriching and satisfying all at once ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.