Poets logo

Down

From 1999

By Dearl TuckerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You’ve got

fragile pockets,

they couldn’t hold a penny.

Put your money in them

and you’re broke, instantly.

Seen you walking down

the same dirty streets.

See you talking now

to people,

imaginary people.

Why don’t you want to?

Did you ever have a Dream?

I don’t think you ought to

be doing these things.

Seeping out, seeping out…

Your eyes are blackening.

your life is being wasted

by illegal industries.

Down on the bottom of my shoe

I see you. I see you,

looking up at me as I look down.

Down on the bottom of my shoe

I see you. I believe it’s you…

Looking at me in a way that brings me-

Down on the bottom of my shoe

just like you. Just like you…

Looking up as if to say

this could be me too.

I don’t want to be

down on the bottom of a shoe.

It’s better me than you…

It’s better me than you.

Better me,

for you.

March 3rd 1999

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dearl Tucker

Poet, Singer, Lyricist, Wordsmith...

www.facebook.com/dearltucker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.