Poets logo

Dopamine

A poem about love at ✨reinvented✨ first sight…night after night. 🌙

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
13
👑✨I'll be your dopamine today✨👑

Close your eyes,

I want to take you

on a ride through paradise.

We’ve been together

for forever…

and I think it’s time

to reignite *some spice*.

*

Masquerade, masquerade,

no looking,

close your eyes -

for my disguise

will light your eyes

like you have fantasized *and dreamed*.

And when I’m ready,

(in a teddy)

I’ll emerge and you’ll have seen

me again,

for the first time…

I’ll be your dopamine.

*

Close your eyes,

no peeking, babe,

but you can make a guess:

imagine leather

pulled together,

and a determination to possess -

that’s right: tonight,

(upon first sight)

I am your conqueress.

*

Masquerade, masquerade,

what fun it is to play;

I’ve pulled these scenes

straight from your dreams -

and I’m your dopamine today.

*

Close your eyes,

don’t look, don’t look,

but you may say what you assume;

your heart is racing,

for I am raising

the temperature for you.

C’mon, c’mon,

what do you think?

What on earth do you presume?

Sheer, black lace,

short dress, risqué -

(I’m bound to make you swoon…);

tonight, tonight,

upon first sight,

I am your temptress by the moon.

*

Masquerade, masquerade,

the flame between us will not fade;

I’ve pulled these scenes

straight from your dreams -

and I’m your dopamine today.

*

Close your eyes,

don’t try to peek,

right now because I’m

anything but modest;

your palms are sweaty

as I get ready

and this has got to be my hottest:

pearls that drape

around my waist;

only diamonds scattered on my bodice;

that’s right, sit tight,

tonight, tonight,

(upon first sight)

I am your fucking goddess.

*

Oh, the game I’ve made -

masquerade…

your soul is bursting at the seams;

I’ve pulled these scenes

straight from your dreams -

and I’m your dopamine today.

*

Close your eyes,

sit still, don’t move -

you are my Superman, detained;

your heart is beating,

and I’m

intent on keeping

my power over you, maintained.

I want to make you gawk

as if

I’m turning back the clock

to the

first day that we crossed paths;

(where we)

*both stopped* to catch the coming train…

and I set fire to your numbing brain…

and in that instant

(that very instant)

I had you in my pocket, with a chain.

Sit still, big guy,

and let the mystery transpire…

this time, this time

I’m intellectual brains, and fire -

and you…

(you may be *Superman*)

but this is driving you insane…

ok, my love

*look at me now*

tonight, tonight,

(upon first sight)

I am your Lois Lane.

*

Masquerade,

don’t look: behave -

close your eyes and make a wish:

my magic makes your heartbeat rise,

the way you radiate which each surprise -

casting spells that keep the fire new, revived, alive.

And like a sorceress, I will restore this,

[just like it was the first time]

when you instantly adored me;

and with butterflies

you couldn’t help explore me;

c’mon, c’mon,

let’s continue our *lust story*:

and with this repertory I’ve designed;

let’s rewind the time and

bring back all the magic…

(and let’s)

revive our dwindled love attachment

to what it used to be before;

and I’ll pull rabbits from a hat

(if that’s)

what it takes to get us back there;

I’ll do anything

(I’ll do anything)

to reignite our legend love affair

just like it was the first time…

and so tonight, tonight,

I want to make a great impression

and before you open up your eyes again,

ask yourself the question:

What do you think that I’ve devised?

Masquerade,

(magic act),

*intricate disguise*…

tell me everything you need because I’ll dress to be

your greatest love obsession;

I’ll be the slowing time

that makes your heart beat with precession -

I am your eleven past eleven in the clock hands of the sky,

I am your vision from a dream (within a dream) in settle, haloed-light,

and just like I was the first time,

I am your dopamine and heaven, brought to life.

*

Close your eyes,

no cheating, babe,

this is a masquerade – be brave;

and I can’t say what I am set to be

even though you’re feeling anxious

(as I watch your swelling veins lust)

from across the moonlit room …

but wait for me,

please wait for me,

(even if you do, impatiently)

with the burning pleading of your heart flumes.

And while you wait,

why don’t you say

-why don’t you say-

(why don’t you say) what you assume –

you never know

-you never know-

you could just show how much you know

(and are in tune) with who I am.

And as I stand here waiting for your answer,

I am a panther sizing up her prey;

*I am the one in power*

even though it’s you I hope that will

devour ME

(when you can see)

who I’ve become for you today.

And I can slay but I’ll surrender

(whenever and)

just like I did on that September

night when you first saw me by the gate,

and we both knew that we were soulmates

in an instant

(in that instant)

in an instant, just like fate;

how it felt to be magnetic

to the essence of your being –

how romantic and poetic

to be honored,

to be worshipped,

to be seen;

and just like it was the first time

I want to rock your spirit wholly from the seams,

I want to make you feel immortal,

I want to be

I want to be your dopamine;

and like a dream we will time travel

to the very moment that we met,

and I will watch your nerves unravel:

because there is no way you could forget.

Have you guessed yet?

Have you guessed yet?

C’mon babe, I know you’re keen…

it’s the way you saw me underneath the sunset:

for I was dressed just like a dream:

lace cascading all around me -

how it glittered gold, and gleamed;

and for you I was a vision

that brought you breathless… to your knees.

And the very moment that you bowed down

was the moment that I found my shining crown of all of God’s great things,

and together,

yes, together,

we rode off to conquer new regimes.

Have you guessed yet?

Have you guessed yet?

(You will soon remember, and I’ll be…)

quintessential royalty;

and so prepare to once again have seen

me again

for the first time…

I am your FOREVER QUEEN;

masquerade, masquerade,

(I am slay and I’m surrender)

I am your dopamine. 👸🏻👑

-📝🧚🏻‍♀️Gina Corrine

***

(For other poems of mine about Love at First Sight, see "Coalesce" and "Beneath the Lowlights".)

love poems
13

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    You are SO AMAZING, Gina. Holy shit (as I keep saying). I haven't yet read a piece I have not absolutely adored. What a scintillating, compelling, and completely engrossing poem, full of your literary genius. Seriously, can I buy your work yet? This poem is just amazing. Amazing!! I swear you are tapped into words in a way I can't possibly understand. WOWOWOWOWOW.

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    The pacing of this piece is simply amazing. Love it!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is amazing, like a sexy, playful love song. Well done, my friend.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    I could barely keep reading for the massive smile that was across my face by the third verse. This was so playful, so skilfully written, such a joyful piece to read! ❤️✨

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Whoa! Just Whoa

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Your formatting and repetition skills are insane!! Bravo!! 👏👏👏

  • Whoaaaa, this was so breathtaking! So magical and so mesmerising! This is Gina Signature! It flowed soooo smoothly! Gosh I loved it so much!

  • This brought tears to my eyes. Magical, compelling, mind-swirling.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Pardon me while I go take a cold shower. Wow, Gina, this is awesome! Lyrical and provocative from start to finish.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh, this is so good! Bravo Bravo! I can't believe this is one of your earliest poems on Vocal - it's amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.