Poets logo

Don't care

I shouldn't, yet I should and I hate it. This cycle.

By Bianca WilsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

He was right.

It had nothing to do with me.

I shouldn't have cared.

About anything.

My words fell on deaf ears.

Because even though I was a witness.

To them, I was still a child.

Pour out my soul

screaming reason

to correct his

ignorant misunderstanding,

but they laugh,

not at my words,

but at

the "funny" way

my head moves in anger.

Similar, yet not.

Both negative yet in different ways.

My heart sunk.

I felt distressed.

I was sad to be alive then.

These...

are my parents.

These are my parents...

These are my parents?!

Yes, he was right.

I shouldn't have cared,

shouldn't have at all.

But I did.

Looking back...

I hate it.

I hate it.

I hate it so much.

Why must I live

the rest of my life

indulging your false memories?

Don't need an apology.

For something, you can't remember.

Yet now they say

I'm in the wrong for saying this.

It's not that I have no forgiveness.

It's the lies for me.

If you can't remember, how can you speak with such certainty?

Insisting that I'm wrong,

that you never said such things.

My heart is small.

I don't want to tolerate bullshit.

I cannot tolerate bullshit.

Why must I?

Why are you making me feel guilty just because I can't tolerate bullshit?

Why are you confused as to why I'm mad?

I knew he couldn't remember.

I said I knew he couldn't remember first,

before anyone had ever had any doubts.

Why are you confused over the fact that I am upset even though I know and have been said that person can not remember?

I even told him he could not remember.

To just stop talking.

Yet he insisted with the excuses.

That he had done no wrong.

And now each and every time,

all it takes is one call from him.

To make you find him pitiful.

And make me feel as if

I've done something wrong.

As if I am asking for a tall order.

As if I am asking for something impossible.

It's a cycle.

I'm tired of it.

Just.

Don't.

Lie.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Wilson

Author of Dream of the Cabbage Spirit on Amazon. Webnovel writer, simmer, poet and daydreamer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.