Poets logo

Domestic

Musings seen through the glass of an empty beer bottle.

By AlexaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like

I like beer bottles better than cans

I like the way it tastes, simple and unpretentious like it was never meant to be anything but this

I like the sigh when its freed from the glass, released pressure lingering in the air for those precious few seconds before floating off somehwere-- anywhere-- but here

I like the feeling of twisting a top off, proud when its easy and satisfied when its a challenge

Maybe I just like the proof that something can be changed by my hands

I like having something to pick at, to peel back labels and layers when my conversation partner finds mine too thick

I like the way nobody cares if you finish too fast, because its just a bottle

I like the way it makes me look, chin tilted up like something close to defiance and skin rippling as I swallow

A $5.99 proximity to masculinity

Maybe I like the way it gives me an excuse to bare my throat instead of my teeth

I like the power granted to me from the bottle, secondhand lust-lidded eyes surprised and delighted when I wrap my lips round the top

Phallic fruit so low-hanging, but sweet all the same

I like flipping the caps when im in a good mood, and pressing them into my skin when im not

I like that if i blow into the top, I can make it sing

I like that if i hurl it at the wall, i can make it shatter

I like beer bottles because they remind me of my mother

I dislike beer cans because they remind me of my mother, and of me.

Mental HealthFree VerseFamily
Like

About the Creator

Alexa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.