Poets logo

Do you love yourself?

A poem for every person grappling with the question of self-love

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
8
Do you love yourself?
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

The words hit so hard that they left their imprint on my mind

Ears are ringing

My entire body re-equilibrating itself

Trying to find the missing pieces

To put myself back together again

*

Do you love yourself?

*

Where is this voice that I hear?

*

I am that voice from inside your head

*

Between the pulses and the dull aches

How much more can my body take?

*

You’re constantly chasing love

Seeking it in fast cars and drugs

They leave you bruised, unfulfilled

Desperate for the next binge

*

I am being scolded by a voice

Are you even a physical entity?

Stop attacking me

How dare you speak like this to me!

*

You fight me every time

Muffling my voice when you’re hurting

Smothering me when you smoke

I ask you to intensify my signal

Increase my clarity

To tune in and listen to me

*

You chase other voices instead

knowing they leave you temporarily satisfied

Until that feeling creeps up underneath your skin

You tell me to shut up

Another voice takes my place

The cycle repeats itself over and over again

*

Do you love yourself?

I am asking a second time

*

Ouch!

I can’t believe you hit me again

How can I answer when you didn’t give me a chance?

*

I am sorry, I didn’t mean to hit you

But it’s the only time I can get your attention

When you’re more yourself

Instead of pretending to be someone else

I can’t be the only one who sees it

You know the truth

*

Do you love yourself?

This time I will pause

*

Here’s your chance to answer

*

If you continue to live like this

Soon my access will be denied

*

I…

I am not sure how I feel

*

It’s ok

Acknowledging how you feel is the beginning

I ask to stimulate your thinking

I am here for you

Please don’t shut me down

In time, we will learn what truly loving yourself is all about

...

Thank you for reading. This poem is dedicated to anyone battling with an addiction or those who feel less than. I want you to know that you are loved. Please find the necessary help that you need. Self-love is important and it's a beautiful thing. To learn how to practice self-love, check out this article I wrote.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.