Poets logo

Do You Feel? /Remembered Forgotten Memories

History Hurts

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Do You Feel? /Remembered Forgotten Memories

3/24/08

Have you ever felt

One of those days?

Those days that feel

Like they’ll never end.

A day that feels

Somehow misplaced.

Everything feels like

It doesn’t belong.

I’ve felt one of those days.

Those days that feel

Like I shouldn’t be here

And everything here isn’t real.

I enjoy the detachment

But something comes to mind.

The reason I’m here,

A reason that’s hard to find.

I know it’s bad

And that I care.

But why do I feel this way?

What’s that smell in the air?

The sounds and sights

They’re all facades, fakes.

No one understands my plight

But then I wake.

I feel the sadness overwhelm,

I know the truth is revealed,

I have to deal with it now

In this place of a day forever.

This day is one of many that last

In memory forever and never fades.

This day unlike any other yet,

The same as many before.

These days are like a memory

Forgotten that flitter back to consciousness.

They don’t fit in so they stand out,

Because these are the days that even God forgot.

A day so sad and inevitable

That no one could avert.

A dreaded day with misery,

It’s just a remembered forgotten memory.

Now the day is close to end.

My thoughts and feelings for the day

Are of sadness and of misery.

Then I know it’s just a remembered forgotten memory.

This day unlike any other

Except many from before

Leads to a day like all the others

We’ll go on like this never happened until another remembered forgotten memory.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.