Poets logo

Do Not Forget Me

.

By Ash TaylorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Do Not Forget Me
Photo by Karim Ben Van on Unsplash

Do not forget me

When the sun dips low on the horizon

And the gentle night creeps in

As the quiet dark settles and the light fades away

Do not forget me.

Do not forget me

When you lay my body to rest

And bury me in the kind earth.

When in my final resting place I lie in slumber

Do not forget me.

Do not forget me

When twilight fades to silent dawn again

And light has yet to break above

As the wind caresses you and whispers softly

Do not forget me.

Do not forget me

When memory fades like a photograph

And all that is left is an old ache

When tears no longer fall for me still,

Do not forget me.

Do not forget me

Though age is not kind I ask

Do not forget me

As I have not forgotten you.

sad poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Wow, this really resonates deeply. Beautifully written

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    This beautiful piece is heartrending, dear Ash. It literally brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for writing it and sharing it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.