Poets logo

Do I Dare?

... irritation is irrigation ...

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Do I Dare?
Photo by Alex Radelich on Unsplash

Do I Dare?

I read an article on here Monday morning, that took me back a little bit. I mean, much of the statements I don’t agree with, but many of the points made were quite valid and caused me some self-reflection, which is a good thing. Self-reflection is my happy place – it’s asking myself the uncomfortable questions, and it’s where I learn and grow. So, the author/article may have irritated me, but I must appreciate the fact that it caused me to ask questions of myself, exactly because I found myself irritated.

I have to ask myself then, why does what the author says, make me feel this way?

Because some of the issues addressed in the article were things I have been trying to ignore, or “spin” differently, so that I could continue living a mindset of willful ignorance about a certain issue I am having, which is not going to improve until I intentionally address it.

I can stay as I am, content with the reliable pittance that I earn, and continue to tell myself that I’m being productive on this hamster-wheel, or I can make the extremely scary leap, which carries a mighty risk, but the possibility of infinite rewards.

I’m still strengthening my legs for the leap, but I think I’m almost ready.

It also encouraged me to “go deeper.” Why? Because I want to be better, more genuine. I want to understand who I am and my impact on the world around me. I need more space, though. More breathing room. More honest accountability.

Just some rambling thoughts. Pay me no mind. :)

social commentaryProse
9

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.