Poets logo

Distractions

An entry for the Dancing with Distraction challenge

By L.C. SchäferPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
49
Distractions
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Draw the sword from the stone

Idolise Huckleberry, Mowgli, and Phileas

Sail on the Pequod with Ahab

Take a trip on the Antelope

Root for Winston's struggles against Big Brother

Amble through the Shire

Canter through the meadows with Ginger and Merrylegs

Try on a fur coat and push through the wardrobe

Introduce the monster to his maker and watch what happens

Ogle the treasure map over Jim's shoulder

Navigate your way home for pesky distractions like dinner, bath and bedtime

+++++++

Thank you for reading! Still full of cold, but will do my best to reciprocate reads!

If you are interested in the story behind the story: I wrote this in my dressing gown for the Distractions challenge, between snatches of orange juice and wishing I could rip out my own sinuses. I hope you enjoyed it 😁

If fiction is more your thing, here's a recent fantasy/horror and a dystopian/spoof - let me know what you think 😁

surreal poetry
49

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    L.C. - I'm 'Ringing my Brains' why I haven't discovered your marvelous work before? I just can't imagine how much you put up at once, I can't keep up with you. *As I scroll through your presentations I've subscribed to you with pleasure. Your 'Original' work among many "Creative" Ways-to-Write Writers among us is so refreshing to view. I'm just a retired legal biz writer morphed into a self described 'Goof Writer' nothing more. I'm not into challenges or rewards but I so appreciate your gorgeous headings and written wit ~ So "Canter" with Kantor ~ Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Quite the journey indeed. And how dare those pesky distractions call me away. I guess sustenance is required to be able to continue such journey lol. Awesome read, L.C.

  • I love this so much. A journey in a journey about past journeys. I just keep re-reading it

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    NICE WORK !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I love all these distractions!! This was quite brilliant, clever fun :) Congratulations on Top Story! Hope you feel better soon!!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    Oh yes! "Real life" is just a distraction from reading ...

  • Tony Baca11 months ago

    Pretty cool... But I was hoping you would do a story about ripping out your own sinuses.. Now that's a Distraction. Lol..

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is wonderful. Congrats on the TS

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!💖💖💕

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Congrats. 🎉

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Love the nods to the Fantasy lands of yore great job 👏 congratulations on your top story

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    I love this so much! Well done, and congrats on your top story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I thought I'd commented on this before and I apologize for the oversight. This is absolutely wonderful, LC!

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    This is fab. Great stuff.

  • Jeffrey Sparks11 months ago

    Beautiful. Proud of you for this one!

  • Cindy Calder11 months ago

    Love this! I work at an Elementary School, and I always tell students that reading will take you anywhere you'd like to go. Great poem!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Ugh, hope you feel better. Apparently the yucks make you even more creative. This was thoroughly enjoyable. Vodka with lime, honey, ginger, and anything else you can throw in. If u don't drink . Tons of lime, honey, ginger etc. First time I tried it, i keeled over on the bathroom floor. Woke up next morning thoroughly cured.

  • Kelly Robertson11 months ago

    So many good books, so many amazing worlds to get lost in. Well done!

  • Chantae Harding11 months ago

    I feel like I just went on a trip with old friends. Very well done. Good luck!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Ahhh hope you feel better soon!! I loved the Ginger and Merrylegs reference!❤️

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Ahh, I love all the literary references! And yes, isn't reading the perfect distraction? 📚🥰

  • Introduce the monster to its maker and watch what happens. I loved that line so much! Also, the line, Ogle the treasure map over Jim's shoulder reminded me of Treasure Planet but I'm not sure if that's actually what you were referring to. I loved your acrostic so much!

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Excellent L.C.

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    So many allusions to a number of my favorite works. Wonderful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.