Poets logo

Distractions at Hand

Getting my dopamine fix at the expense of everything else

By Judey Kalchik Published 11 months ago 1 min read
21
Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/samilustrando-16566654/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=5175518">Samir Basante Valencia</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com//?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=5175518">Pixabay</a>

Digging the ground; I’m a farmer with a crop.

Icing the cakes; I’m a pastry chef, oops now line cook.

Scrap this whole hand; I won’t wait on the flop.

Tricksy clues, hidden libraries, puzzle piece in a book.

-

Rescue the princess, find the best sword-

And every morning, coffee and a new five letter word-

Cranky birds, peeved pigs, stolen eggs, each round a new board

Two dots, matching jelly candies- my thoughts wait in line to be heard.

-

In my hand a marvel, a phone for calls

Or directions, the occasional text?

Nah- gimme games- Royal Match will be next.

~~

This poem is an acrostic- the first letters of each sentence spell out the word DISTRACTION. We pay quite a price for out gaming time, it's paid with our lives, the times of which is finite.

When I'm not seeking the dopamine thrill of completing a line of three meaningless icons and clearing the board, I do other things that make me happy.

Here's my latest look back on how I got to this place:

I appreciate you reading my thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with writers on Vocal:

  1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts.
  2. Click on the little heart to let me know that the poem clicked with you
  3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.
  4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on social media.
  5. A one-time tip or a monthly pledge is always appreciated if you are so moved!

inspirationalhumor
21

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson11 months ago

    Love this one Judey! I’m with you on the games… first thing in the morning… Wordle, Quordle, and Duotrigordle! Woohoo! Then I try to reach “Genius” status on Spelling Bee. It’s all a great “Distraction”!

  • Tehreem nadeem11 months ago

    Good one

  • Very fun to read

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    That was a lot of fun. Well done.

  • Talk about the current ultimate distraction we face!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Sweet!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    We are in the same page! Love how you expressed this. My left brain is using this as evidence to indict the right! 🥰

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Love it, these app games inspirational poem

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Ah, yes. Pam is the phone gamer at our house. I recognize all of those. Angry Birds was frustrating enough for me, back in the dinosaur days. Great job with the acrostic!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Good job 👏🏼

  • Fun and well done, very well thought out.

  • Well done ❤️📝💯😉🎯❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.