Poets logo

distance: an inventory

November 2020

By Vicky HillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
distance: an inventory
Photo by Forest Simon on Unsplash

1. Mum, at the door, leaving, her tight arms telling me everything about how much I am, and her

warm neck (I remember the skin there, damp from my tears) -

she'd like to curl me up into herself, my daughters in me, like a queen wasp backwards, I think. I

wouldn't mind.

2. Embracing a friend in the street, and what starts as a quick hello keeps on, because there’s

energy in the connection, and everything is hard and tired.

3. The sister-knot, long practised, always something silly in it. Swinging steps or a joke that no one else will get. A battle for arm supremacy.

4 bare-shouldered aunts at weddings, skin slack-soft and powder perfume.

Even those - 5 - awkward chest-avoiding things with people who don’t usually, all elbows,

or 6, air-kisses with posh in-laws, or 7, greetings with European friends when you start on the

wrong side or do too many, or too few.

When the shop assistant’s fingers graze mine, 8, as I hold my hand out for change, and 9: trying

a firm and manly handshake but I’m a woman and my hands always sweat.

I would sometimes stroke the head of a friend’s child. 10.

Or 11 touch someone’s arm when I was sorry, or sincere, or pretending to be sincere. Or

making a joke about being sincere.

my children’s careless limbs on me and over each other’s my husband’s hands his arms and his long frame.

Fortunate mammals.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vicky Hill

Londoner, Poet, Children's Writer, Scone-With-Jam-and-Cream Lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.