Poets logo

Who Says?

Simon, you say?

By Vicky HillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Who Says?
Photo by Aleks Marinkovic on Unsplash

Simon says - touch your nose!

Simon says - stretch up tall!

Simon says - tweak your toes!

Simon says - kiss that wall!

Do whatever Simon says! Do it now and do not snooze!

But if Simon doesn’t say it

and you do it

then you LOSE!

Simon says - lick your feet!

Simon says -

Stop! Wait -

hold it.

Hold it for just one minute.

Who is this ‘Simon’?

Why am I doing what he says?

Why does Simon decide what I do

and what I don’t?

And how do YOU know what Simon says?

I’m not sure I should do

what you said Simon says I should

even if you’re certain

you’re saying the same as Simon.

One day, I might just fancy a walk,

a chat with my friend,

or to sit on my own and stare for a bit.

Maybe I’ll want to tweak my toes

even if Simon hasn’t said I should do it (according to you).

Do I lose?

And

What if Simon says - call your teacher ‘Mum’ all day

Or - steal your little sister’s sweets and give them all to Simon?

Will it be my fault if I do it?

And if I don’t do it, do I lose?

I’m onto you, Simon.

I’ve got your number.

And here’s what I’m going to do.

I’ll get all the kids together

and I’ll say to them, ‘Listen.

Simon says - stop doing what Simon says from now on.

Simon says - sorry.

Simon says - you should all do what you want.’

They will all look back at me and say, ‘Did Simon really say that?

How do we know you’re telling the truth?'

And I’ll say, ‘He did say it, and he’s gone now.

He won’t be back.

Simon doesn’t say, any more.

‘Try for yourself!

Try doing whatever.

Try running, or drawing, or playing together.

Nose all touched-out?

Is stretching a bore?

Don’t want to lick your own feet any more?

Then do something else! Ride your bike! Have a swim!

Forget Simon! Guess what? It’s not all about him.

Go fishing. Watch clouds. Play Kerplunk! or kazoo!

Think Simon decides?

No. It’s all up to YOU.’

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vicky Hill

Londoner, Poet, Children's Writer, Scone-With-Jam-and-Cream Lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.