Poets logo

Distance

By Victor Edmunds Published about a month ago 1 min read
5
Distance
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

You have multicolored hair

Of which the colors are a pair

Photography is your game

A hobby that is fairly tame

And though we can never be

That doesn’t set me free

Free of the feelings that I feel

To get rid of I’d make a devilish deal

No matter what I do

I always think of you

No matter how hard I try

Over you a little I cry

Maybe if I keep my distance

I might be able to find my acceptance

That you and I

Will never fly

But that’s a fool’s dream

I’d probably be better off making a meme

Will I ever get over this feeling

Or will it always leave me reeling?

You have multicolored hair

Which I would only wear on a dare

You like to wear black

And I usually only see your back

It’s better this way

Especially when there’s not much to say

Despite our similarity

It only highlights our disparity

Thinking on it again

As I write with this pen

Keeping my distance

Is probably the best stance

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Victor Edmunds

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    This poem is extremely relatable. We all know: "Keeping my distance Is probably the best stance" but as with so many things in life, it's a lot easier said than done! I'm looking forward to reading more of your poetry. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.