Poets logo

Didn’t Realize

That I was in love with you

By Karlie Steadman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Didn’t Realize
Photo by Julian Larcher on Unsplash

I didn’t realize it until after the reintroduction.

I didn’t realize it until after the dust settled over my weary bones and restless soul.

I didn’t realize it until it was calm after the storm again.

Until I gazed across the horizon and asked why it was so hazy out there.

That sneaky, underlying action of an emotion that lies beneath the safety of my ribcage.

The same one that’s been put to the test time and time again.

The one that keeps growing no matter how little water it gets.

I didn’t realize it until after I saw you again. Beautiful under the overcast of a winter day.

But the sweet sounds of suppression and silence fill the room.

Words are replaced by a melancholy smile. And a sigh.

While the ghost of the pain remains, and I ask myself why.

I’m following the risk down its familiar path in hopes that I find myself safe this time.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Karlie Steadman

Hello friends! I’m Kar, and I’m 25 years old currently residing in Delaware. Welcome to the workings of my mind and healing of my inner child. Perhaps you can relate while I’m on my journey to self discovery✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.