Poets logo

"Did it rain last night, Mother?"

A Morning Reflection

By Judey Kalchik Published 8 months ago 1 min read
20
https://pixabay.com/users/arcaion-2057886/

How did you not know?

~o sheltered city-girl~

that the world is reborn in the dark of night.

In the secretive healing darkness

the air from the All and breath from the Earth itself mingles.

Swirling and embracing

the damages, worries, and injustice-caused bruises are bathed

in the tears of the cosmos

cleansed and filtered

then reverently dropped upon the waiting grasses, leaves, and flora

bathing and soothing with a gentling caress

replenishing to prepare the world for another day.

~

Please leave a comment. What are things you have recently noticed? How do you heal? What gives you hope?

And- a FREEBIE for you- click the follow me button and get a free notification when new stuff that I write is available.

Thank you!

inspirationalnature poetry
20

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Brilliantly written Judey! I've been noticing spider's webs with dew on them recently! I heal using writing and works like this give me hope.

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    gorgeous work Judey! Doll Therapy, helping others, prayer & writing help me to heal! God and Love give me hope!

  • This is beautiful Judey

  • Unless the combination of humidity & temperature failed to drop below dewpoint, in which case I guess yesterday's dust remains. But seriously, a gentle rain or early morning dew--is there anything more beautiful?

  • JBaz8 months ago

    ‘The world is reborn in the dark of night’. Damn, I wish I would have thought of that line. This has a haunting beauty to it, yet it made me smile. Well done

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    My comment will probably seem strange. But I have to say it anyway. Carl Sagan would love your poem, Judey!

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Lovely words. The rejuvenation of the night and darkness is not celebrated enough in my view. ❤

  • Lovely 💖📝💯😉👌🎉

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    Baptismal rain. BEAUTIFUL prose!! 💖

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rasma Raisters8 months ago

    Lovely poem. My favorite thing after a rainy night is to see the raindrops sparkling beneath the sun along with the morning dew.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wow. This is beautiful. Well done.

  • Diani Alvarenga8 months ago

    Beautifully written!

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    This is beautiful! We've had nothing but rain here lately and it's unfortunately making me feel pretty gloomy, but before that I noticed the leaves starting to change and fall and that makes me excited for autumn and all the holidays coming up!

  • How to follow Paul’s comment except to say I agree! This reads absolutely perfectly …. Divine 👌✨🕊️❤️

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Stunning - Stun-bloody-ning. Superb and stun-bloody-ning, Judey! I have noticed recently that if I'm honest, even about difficult things, it is best for moving forward. There you go!

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautiful sentiment and lovely thoughtful tone throughout. I really enjoyed reading and gave me hope that a new day awaitens-Thank you! 🤍 Silence makes me heal. Just time away from the noise of the world 🤍

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    It didn't rain here last night, lol Great poem, Ms. Judey.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wonderful poem! Very inspirational! Yes, every day is a new day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.