Poets logo

Dialogue Between A Rock and A Hard Place

Consistent through the ages

By Rowan Finley Published 7 days ago 1 min read

Rock: “I was there in the garden of paradise as you rested.”

Hard place: “My wife and I’s lives took a turn as our folly suggested.”

Rock: “I was there when the waves subsided.”

Hard place: “I thought the earth would never again be sighted.”

Rock: “You were about to be sacrificed on top of me.”

Hard place: “My father was ready to slay me and who was I to disagree?”

Rock: “You rested your head on me and slept.”

Hard place: “My name meant deceiver and multiple wives I kept.”

Rock: “Your brothers almost used me for your killing.

Hard place: “I weathered prison and learned forgiveness, my heart became willing.”

Rock: “You called forth water from me.”

Hard place: “Anywhere but the desert, I wanted to be.”

Rock: “You slung me fast into the enemy’s head.”

Hard place: “I saw victory, not defeat instead.”

Rock: “I want you to build upon me.”

Hard place: “Even though I was so quick to deny you and flee?”

Rock: “I AM THE ROCK.”

Hard place: “I see that now, as in you, I will always take my stock.”

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Colleen Walters7 days ago

    I actually really like this! I’m naming them off 😊

Rowan Finley Written by Rowan Finley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.