Poets logo

Devouring the soul

The relentless grip of anxiety

By ManhaPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
2
Devouring the soul
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

The demons whisper in my ear,

Their venomous words filled with fear.

They taunt and torment, day and night,

Consuming my being with endless fright.

The anxiety gnaws at my very core,

Leaving me gasping, wanting more.

It claws at my chest, steals my breath,

This relentless beast, harbinger of death.

The worry consumes, a ravenous beast,

Stripping away my joy and peace.

It feasts on my thoughts, my hopes, my dreams,

Until I'm left hollow, a mere shell, it seems.

The panic swells, a tidal wave,

Threatening to pull me into the grave.

I struggle to stay afloat, to keep my head high,

But the anxiety keeps dragging me under, til I want to die.

This invisible malady, eating me whole,

Devouring my body, my mind, my soul.

I long for the day I can be free,

When this anxiety no longer consumes me.

Mental Health
2

About the Creator

Manha

Weaving tales that linger and crafting verses that sing, I'm a creative writer and poet from the south of Asia. Let's wander together - a captivating read awaits

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Anxiety be gone!! 🫶🏻☀️🌅

  • Great poem! We all get anxiety!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.