Poets logo

desert orchid

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
10
desert orchid
Photo by María Ten on Unsplash

I was an orchid planted in desert and on the art of leaving I was no expert. My roots were on fire and my leaves were scalded, my stems thinned and my petals moulded. Desperate for water from an earth bone dry, it’s a miracle that I even survived.

It should have been easy to move away from chemical farmers dousing poisoned spray. Yet I believed that I could help them see the orchid they too were supposed to be. Only all were blind to logic and reason and encouraging compassion was treated as treason. I was powerfully, inextricably and painfully attached to the very poison from which I was hatched.

sad poetrynature poetry
10

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    You are probably familiar with Elizabeth Bishop's poem "One Art", right? Well, in a way, your piece reminds me of it. Nothing to do with the orchid. Just the tone and overall message. Really enjoyed reading your piece!

  • This was so poignant and I love the analogy you used here. It made me so emotional. Very well done!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Layered in meaning! Nice work. 👏☺️

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Omg! I was drawn in by the title alone – i love how visual it is – and i loved this ✨ Painful but maybe freeing to realize, u never belonged in the desert to begin with 🌸

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Beautiful writing

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Great metaphor, vividly written.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wow, this is intense! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.