Poets logo

Derek’s Dinner with Dad

Poppy’s Challenge# 3 - March

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
5
Created in Midjourney By Author

I stumble out of the pub - trying to hail a cab on a foggy as soup night

A heavy blanket of alcohol- soothes the ceaseless, monkey chatter in my brain

“Blarghhhh” my stomach lurches, my internal compass gyrates – the streetscape spins like a top– my face goes white

Feet and legs twirl like spaghetti, rendering me lame to

Land on the pavement, next to a piece of thrown away bread, now slickly spiderweb spun, in greeny, gray mould

Just an awkward pile of limbs, reeking of scotch, nose to nose with trash, feeling sick to my stomach - looking rumpled and soiled

My angel reaches down to help me up – her long hair, brushing my face - smelling of vanilla and musk

“Oh Derek, why must you always drink – way, way, too much whenever, you see him!” She stretches out her hand.

An epiphany, flash-strikes through my drunken befuddle, and I know, just, how truly, lucky I am!

Mental Healthlove poemsheartbreakGratitudeFor FunFamily
5

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Super unique and great descirption of drunkedness!

  • I agree with Dharrsheena… though I suspect Derek might have learnt his lesson… vivid description of an unpleasant place to land!😳

  • Derek better not drink again, else I'll ask her to leave him, lol. Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Excellent narrative poem! Particulars really created a vivid scene!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is a delightfully playful piece! “Blarghhhh” my stomach lurches - easily one of the funniest poetic lines ever! Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.